fbpx 0

Call TRC:



    • People being awarded for helping to improve the lives of people less fortunate

    Nominate someone for a Disability Awareness Award

    Nominations are being accepted for The Resource Center’s 30th annual Disability Awareness and Recognition Awards.

    Every year, people with disabilities in Chautauqua County make tremendous strides in their quest to lead productive, meaningful lives. And every day, they are supported in their efforts by a wide segment of the community that appreciates and values the contributions those with disabilities can make, if given a chance.

    To recognize the efforts of people with disabilities and those who support them, each year The Resource Center holds a celebration to pay tribute to this deserving group by presenting the Disability Awareness and Recognition Awards. The public is encouraged to nominate people with disabilities whom they know, or people and organizations from the community that have had a positive impact on the lives of those with disabling conditions.

    Nominations are being accepted in the following categories:

    Advocate of the Year, recognizing extraordinary efforts in advocating for one’s own rights or the rights of other people with disabilities.

    Bruce Walford Community Service Award, honoring a person who demonstrates the following characteristics: a commitment to the community; selflessness; the initiative and the ingenuity to forge forward and make things happen; and enthusiasm and exuberance that inspire others. This award was established in memory of the late Bruce “Wally” Walford, who was the manager of TRC’s Dunkirk Work Center Program.

    Business/Employer of the Year, recognizing an employer that has improved the availability, accessibility and quality of integrated, competitive or supported employment for people with disabilities.

    Community Support Award, given to a person, service group or business that has provided unique opportunities and experiences to people with disabilities.

    Edwin W. Roth Memorial Award, recognizing a person with a behavioral health challenge, an advocate, an agency, a professional, or a community member, that has supported efforts to improve the lives of people with mental illness or substance abuse challenges. This award is named in honor of the late Ed Roth, a New York State Office of Mental Health official who was a strong advocate for people with mental illness.

    Elmer Muench Volunteer of the Year, honoring a person who has donated time, talents and/or expertise toward improving the quality of life for people with disabilities. Volunteer service could include interacting directly with people with disabilities, assisting with special events or serving on a board or committee. This award is named in honor of the late Elmer Muench of Fredonia, a longtime volunteer and advocate for people with disabilities.

    Health Provider of the Year, honoring an entity or professional that has enhanced the lives of people with disabilities by providing outstanding health services.

    Outstanding Achievement, saluting a person with a disability who has made significant advancements in developing personal skills.

    Success of the Year, praising a person with a disability who has achieved his or her goals in the areas of community integration and/or employment.

    Nominees do not have to be affiliated with The Resource Center. A selection committee composed of community volunteers will decide which nominees are most deserving of the awards.

    Nominations will be accepted until August 27. Each nomination must include a narrative explaining why the nominee is deserving of an award, including examples of how the nominee has positively impacted people with disabilities. Click here to submit a nomination online. If you want a nomination form sent to you, phone Victoria Trass Bardo at 661-1477. Nominations can be mailed to the Awards Planning Committee, c/o The Resource Center, 200 Dunham Avenue, Jamestown, NY, 14701. Nominations also can be faxed to 485-4612.

    The awards will be presented at the Disability Awareness Awards Celebration in October

    By |August 14th, 2018|News|0 Comments

    About the Author:

    Leave A Comment